New Recipes

Coordinator
Feb 14, 2010 at 9:48 AM

Lets disucss here possible new recipes for SPSF. Maybe you have SharePoint code from your project which could be standardized to a general recipe.

Mar 4, 2010 at 12:21 PM

Hi,

I think it will be very interesting to import many Site Columns, Content Types, List Instances, and/or List Definitions, in a simple transaction... from a specified Site, or Web.

So we make dialogue boxes based on many panels, each one contains a grid (2D table) having all properties needed for a single import type (Site column, content type...) as columns. And the rows contain the items to be imported.

Thanks, and appreciations...

Mouslim

IED

Mar 12, 2010 at 10:14 AM

Hi, and thanx so much for a really valuable tool.

I have a couple of questions about recipes, both existing and new. Basically, I am completely new to GAX and the recipe logic, but, just for clarification..

1. Can I use the recipes to edit artifacts that I have added to my Application, For instance, it would be great to have the ability to add a dependecy to a feature using the wizard. As far as I know, I can use the recipes to add artifacts, not edit them. If this is possible, is there any guidance on how this coudl be achieved?

2. Can I create new recipes as an extra project and just "bind" them with SPSF ? Or do I have to modify and recompile the source code? I am interested in the first apporach, as it favours decoupling; one could create new - or enhance existing - recipes, before they become part of the SPSF.

3. Also, could recipes be provided as "service packs" of SPSF, or a new complete install will be required when new recipes are included?

I understand that these questions lie in the gasp between SPSF and GAX, but - as I mentioned - I am a completely inexperienced in this approach. Any guidance is much appreciated.

Thanx again for this - based on my experience - milestone on sharepoint development.

Coordinator
Mar 14, 2010 at 9:25 PM

@CodePlexMouse: